States consider ban on credit card surcharges

As our readers know, it’s legal for merchants to add surcharges on Visa and MasterCard credit card transactions, unless barred by state law. Ten states currently ban credit card surcharges including California, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Kansas, Maine, Massachusetts, New York, Oklahoma and Texas.

Among the remaining forty states, legislatures in 11 states are considering bills to prevent similar fees: Hawaii, Illinois, Kentucky, Missouri, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Utah, Vermont and Tennessee. A bill will soon be introduced in West Virginia.